03
Oct
09

2Sweat? Really?

I was sort of hoping that just living in Phoenix would count as sweating for Toben and me. After all, after moving to the middle of the desert in July, we’ve done nothing but sweat. Each and every day. No exercise required beyond opening the front door.

But then, the weather cooled off. Just two days ago, in fact. Just days before Mission Community Church tackles the 2Sweat theme. Somehow, I’m thinking if this was the first month’s theme, we’d all have gotten off the hook more easily.

Don’t get me wrong. I do exercise. Almost everyday. Not to look like a supermodel (though I wouldn’t mind if that ends up being a result of all this sweating), but to be strong. To be heathy.

But I really prefer to exercise alone. And I’d rather exercise with just about anyone than Toben.

Why, you ask? Vanity.

The truth is, I look TERRIBLE when I exercise. My face turns red, my clothes don’t match, my hair is still sticking up funny from sleeping the night before, I can’t breathe, I drip sweat. And sweat stinks. (Of course, the fact that I don’t usually brush my teeth before I exercise in the morning doesn’t help much either.)

Exercise attractive? I’m not so sure about that. The result? Definitely. The process? Not so much.

I’m all too happy to eat healthy with Toben, to make sure we get enough rest together, to swallow our vitamins in tandem. But exercising together? It’s going to take some getting used to.

Do men really find sweaty women attractive? I’m hoping that’s a big, resounding yes. Because I’ll do it, but it won’t be pretty.

1 Response to “2Sweat? Really?”


  1. 1 Kimberly
    October 5, 2009 at 3:13 am

    Swim laps together…no red face and your hair will be slicked back or in a swim cap. Have fun. My husband and I fell in love swimming lap together.


Leave a Reply

